Breville Semi-Automatic Espresso Machines: The Whole Range on One Page
Breville's semi-automatic range runs from the compact Bambino to the Dual Boiler, and two questions sort it: do you want a grinder in the box, and how much milk do you make? Our pick for one box is the Barista Express. With a grinder of your own, it's the Bambino, or the Bambino Plus if you drink mostly milk.
Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

For most people, the Barista Express is the Breville to buy: grinder, PID and a 54 mm portafilter in one body. Choose the Bambino if you want your own grinder, the Bambino Plus if the milk should take care of itself, and the Dual Boiler only if you make several milk drinks in a row.
On this page
Breville Barista Express
Machine and conical burr grinder in one body, with PID and a 54 mm portafilter.
Why here: The one-box Breville: grinder, PID and a 54 mm portafilter, and the machine America's Test Kitchen named best overall on July 2, 2025.
Best for: First-time buyers who want one box and no separate grinder to choose
- Integrated conical burr grinder with 16 settings (Breville)
- Thermocoil heating with PID temperature control (Breville)
- Named best overall in America's Test Kitchen's roundup of 2 July 2025
- A better grinder later means buying a separate one
- One thermocoil, not two boilers
- The price swings widely between sale days, so check it on the day
- Heating
- Thermocoil
- Pump, as stated
- 15 bar
- Brew pressure, as stated
- 9 bar
- Portafilter
- 54 mm
- PID
- Yes
- Built-in grinder
- Yes, 16 settings
- Milk
- Manual wand
- Price class
- Mid-range
Who is behind Breville
Breville is an Australian company. According to Wikipedia, it was founded in 1932 by Bill O'Brien and Harry Norville, whose surnames make up the name, and it started out making radios. Today it is known for home appliances and has its headquarters in Alexandria, New South Wales. The article carries a notice about promotional wording, so we use it for the basics only.
Two things are useful to know as a buyer. In the UK and some other markets the same machines are sold as Sage, because another company owns the Breville name in the UK. And Wikipedia lists Baratza among the group's brands, so the Encore ESP grinder has the same parent.
The range at a glance
Values come from Breville's product pages, and “per manual” marks what only its US instruction book states. “Not stated” means we haven't found it, not that the machine lacks it. Pump, as stated, is 15 bar on all of them, and extraction is 9 bar. The 15 or 20 bar on the box is what the pump can reach. Espresso is brewed at about 9 bar.
| Machine | Grinder | Heating | PID | Portafilter | Milk | Class |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bambino* | None | ThermoJet | Yes, per manual | 54 mm | Manual wand | Mid-range |
| Bambino Plus* | None | ThermoJet | Yes, per manual | 54 mm | Hands-free or manual | Mid-range |
| Barista Express* | 16 settings | Thermocoil | Yes | 54 mm | Manual wand | Mid-range |
| Express Impress* | 25 settings, assisted tamp | Thermocoil | Yes | 54 mm | Steam wand | Mid-range |
| Barista Pro* | 30 settings | ThermoJet | Yes, per manual | 54 mm, per manual | Steam wand | Mid-range |
| Barista Touch* | 30 settings | ThermoJet | Not stated | 54 mm | Hands-free or manual | Premium |
| Dual Boiler* | None | Two boilers | Yes | 58 mm | Steam wand | Premium |
The Barista Touch Impress* also appears on Amazon, but we have not read Breville's page for it, so it stays out of this table.
How to read the range
Inside the grinder group, the steps are about how much help you get. The Barista Express leaves the tamp to you. The Impress does it for you at a constant 22 lb with a 7° twist, per Breville. The Pro adds more grind settings and a 3 second heat-up. The Touch adds a screen with up to 8 saved coffees and an automatic wand. The Impress is assisted, so it sits between semi-automatic and super-automatic, and the Touch guides you further still. Our page on machines with a grinder goes further.
Strengths and weak points
- Plain spec pages that print 15 bar and 9 bar side by side, and a lot of the starter kit in the box
- Fast heat-up on ThermoJet models: 3 seconds, per Breville
- A range wide enough to move up without changing brands
- Named by outside reviewers: America's Test Kitchen picks the Express and Bambino Plus
- Built-in grinders can't be upgraded on their own
- Most of the range uses 54 mm, so 58 mm tools won't fit, and tampers don't always match the label
- Product pages leave gaps that the manuals fill: PID on the Bambino models and the Pro, portafilter on the Pro
- Serious Eats, in a copy dated May 2, 2023, wished for stronger steam and a less plastic build on the Dual Boiler
Parts, warranty and repairs
Breville's US warranty page does not name a single term for espresso machines. It points you to the product page for your country, and says the term runs from purchase, or from delivery if you live in California. Registration is optional and doesn't activate the warranty, so keep the receipt. For a claim, have the model and serial number ready and contact Breville Consumer Support. After the warranty, Breville says you can buy parts or use an authorized servicer.
We found no reliable data on how long these machines last, so we don't print any. Water and cleaning are the part you control: the Express manual asks for a new filter about every two months, and more often in hard water areas. See water for espresso machines for the rest.
Alternatives outside Breville
If the range isn't for you, a few other routes make sense. For straight espresso and 58 mm tools, look at the Gaggia Classic Pro. For a sturdier single boiler, the Rancilio Silvia sits a class higher. For a built-in grinder from another brand, see our De'Longhi page. All our picks, side by side, are in the full comparison.
Which Breville should you buy?
If you want one box and still want to control the shot → Breville Barista Express
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you want to choose your own grinder and replace it later → Breville Bambino
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you drink mostly milk and don't want to learn the wand first → Breville Bambino Plus
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you make several milk drinks in a row → Breville Dual Boiler
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you want more grind steps than the Express has → Breville Barista Pro
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
We compare by spec sheet and run no tests of our own. How we compare explains that, and the guide to choosing a machine starts from what you drink.
Asked at the bar
Are Breville and Sage the same espresso machines?
Yes, they are the same maker's machines sold under different names. Wikipedia's article on Breville Group says the Breville name in the UK belongs to an unrelated company, Newell Brands, so the group sells most of its products there under the Sage name. A Sage guide can be useful here, but check it against the manual for your own model.
Which Breville espresso machine is best for a beginner?
It depends on the grinder question. The Barista Express gets you there with one purchase. The Bambino costs you a second decision but leaves the grinder upgradeable. If milk drinks are the point and you don't want to learn the wand first, the Bambino Plus does the texturing itself, with 3 temperatures and 3 texture levels, per Breville.
Which Breville machines have PID?
Breville's product pages state PID for the Barista Express, the Barista Express Impress and the Dual Boiler. The pages for the Bambino, Bambino Plus and Barista Pro don't mention it, but their US instruction books do. The Barista Touch page doesn't mention it either, and we haven't read that manual, so we write “not stated” there.
How long is the Breville warranty?
Breville's US warranty page does not give one length for all espresso machines and points to the product page for your country. It says the term runs from the date of purchase, or from delivery for California residents. Registering is optional and does not activate the warranty, so keep your proof of purchase.
Where this comes from
- Breville: BES870 Barista Express product page
- Breville: Barista Pro instruction book BES878_USCM_IB_Q26 (US, Canada, Mexico)
- Breville: Bambino instruction book BES450_USCM_IB_M26 (US, Canada, Mexico)
- Breville: Bambino Plus instruction book BES500_USCM_IB_2020 (US, Canada, Mexico)
- Serious Eats roundup, read through a Yahoo copy dated May 2, 2023
- Breville: BES920 Dual Boiler product page
- Breville: warranty and repairs
- Wikipedia: Breville Group
- America's Test Kitchen: espresso machines, July 2, 2025
Next round
Bambino vs Barista ExpressBambino or Barista Express? Same 54 mm portafilter and 9 bar extraction, so the choice comes down to the grinder, the counter and how you plan to upgrade.
Barista ExpressBreville Barista Express BES870XL: grinder, PID, 54 mm portafilter and care from Breville's own documents, and who should buy something else.
Breville BambinoBreville Bambino BES450: 54 mm portafilter, 3-second ThermoJet, one-touch shots and a manual wand. What the manual asks of you, and who should pick something else.
Bambino PlusBreville Bambino Plus BES500: how the hands-free steam wand works, what the manual says about the jug, the specs from Breville, and who should skip it.
Dual boilerWhat a dual boiler does, when it earns its price, and how to read budget listings that use the word. One confirmed pick, plus what we could not verify.
With grinderEspresso machines with a built-in grinder compared by spec sheet: Barista Express, Impress, Pro and Touch, plus Ninja, De'Longhi, KitchenAid, Gevi and CASABREWS.
semiautomaticespressomachine.com Editorial Team
Espresso gear & shot craft
We are the editorial team at semiautomaticespressomachine.com. We read maker spec sheets, manuals, standards and published research on espresso and turn them into plain-English buying advice, with sources on every page. We do not run lab tests, and we say so openly.
- Spec sheets & standards read
- Sources on every page
- No lab tests – stated openly
- Publisher details in the imprint
