Ninja Luxe Café vs Breville Barista Express: Assisted or Do It Yourself
Take the Breville Barista Express if espresso is the point and you want to steer the shot. Take the Ninja Luxe Café if the household also wants filter-style coffee and cold drinks, and you like being guided. The Ninja does more for you. The Express leaves more to you, and it comes with far better published documentation.
Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

The Barista Express is a semi-automatic: you dose, tamp and control the shot, with 16 grind settings and a 54 mm portafilter. The Ninja Luxe Café is an assisted machine that recommends the grind, doses by preset and can froth by itself. For espresso and control, we pick the Express. For a household that wants several coffee styles from one machine, the Ninja fits better.
On this page
The short verdict
For most readers of this site, the Barista Express is the better buy. It's built around the shot, Breville publishes what's in it, and America's Test Kitchen named it the overall favorite in its roundup of July 2, 2025. The Ninja Luxe Café earns its place in a different kitchen: one where people want different coffees and few decisions.
A note on evidence. For the Ninja we read an owner's guide for the ES601ANZ, the Australian and New Zealand version of the Premier, and America's Test Kitchen's review. We have no US spec sheet, so US details may differ, and the Ninja's listing shows as seller data only. We haven't pulled shots on either machine.
Side by side
| Point | Barista Express | Ninja Luxe Café (ES601ANZ guide) |
|---|---|---|
| Type | Semi-automatic | Assisted, between semi and super-automatic |
| Grinder | Conical burrs, 16 settings | 25 settings, about 10 of them for espresso per America's Test Kitchen |
| Grind choice | You set it | Machine recommends, you turn the dial |
| Dose | You, with a dose control and Razor tool | By preset: 9, 18 or 40 g for each basket |
| Tamp | You, with the built-in tamper | Assisted tamper in a funnel; chart says 10 to 15 kg |
| Shot | Presets of about 1 and 2 oz, reprogrammable; a button stops it | Preset outputs of 22.5, 45 and 100 ml |
| Temperature | 200°F stated, shift up to 4°F each way in 2°F steps | Three settings |
| PID | Yes (Breville) | Not stated in the guide |
| Milk | Manual wand and steel jug | Hands-free with a whisk, or by hand |
| Hot water | Dedicated outlet | Button, three temperatures, 200 ml program |
| Portafilter | 54 mm | Size not stated in the guide |
| Other drinks | Espresso only | Filter-style coffee and cold-pressed, per the guide |
| Clean cycle | About 5 minutes | About 6 minutes |
| Price class | Mid-range | Mid-range |
Who does what each morning
This is the real difference, and it comes down to a definition. A semi-automatic espresso machine is a pump-driven espresso machine in which you grind, dose and tamp the coffee yourself and start and stop the shot, while the machine supplies the water pressure and temperature. The Express fits that. The Ninja takes over the choices and leaves your hands the moving and pressing, which is why we call it assisted. Semi vs automatic goes into how these labels drift.
Grinder and grind advice
Breville's 16 settings are all for espresso, America's Test Kitchen notes. The Ninja has more steps in total, but about 10 serve espresso, since the rest cover its other coffees.
The Ninja's Barista Assist picks a grind and adjusts it, and the guide says that may take 2 to 3 brews to settle on new beans. America's Test Kitchen saw it change its mind more than once when it switched beans. If you enjoy dialing in by taste, this feature could get in your way. If you hate it, this may be the reason to buy. Neither grinder can be upgraded on its own, and built-in vs separate covers that trade.
Milk
America's Test Kitchen liked the Ninja's automatic frothing, and the guide lists settings for dairy and plant-based milk. The Express has a traditional wand, so you learn the skill, and our steaming guide is the place to start. If your household's main drink is a latte and nobody wants to learn, this column may decide it for you.

Upkeep
Both machines ask for a tablet-and-disc cleaning cycle when a light comes on. The Express's light flashes for cleaning and stays solid for descaling, and our Breville guide has those steps. Ninja's guide puts its descale cycle at about 90 minutes, with a separate clean cycle of about 6 minutes.
One more thing for tinkerers. Breville documents a 54 mm portafilter, and tools for that size are easy to find in our accessories guide. The Ninja detects which of its baskets is locked in, and the guide doesn't discuss third-party baskets, so we wouldn't assume those will work.
Pick by what you want to do
If you mostly want espresso and want to steer the shot → Breville Barista Express
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf your household also wants filter-style coffee and doesn't mind guidance → Ninja Luxe Café Premier · Seller data only
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you want help with tamping on a machine built for espresso → Barista Express Impress
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you want to see every machine with a grinder inside
| Our pick: built-in grinderBreville Barista Express | Seller data onlyNinja Luxe Café Premier | |
|---|---|---|
| Type | – | Assisted, 3-in-1 |
| Heating | Thermocoil | – |
| Pump, as stated | 15 bar | – |
| Brew pressure, as stated | 9 bar | – |
| Portafilter | 54 mm | – |
| PID | Yes | – |
| Built-in grinder | Yes, 16 settings | Yes |
| Milk | Manual wand | – |
| Price class | Mid-range | Mid-range |
| Best for | First-time buyers who want one box and no separate grinder to choose | Households that also want drip coffee and do not mind guidance |
| On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon |
The Luxe Café Pro is the next step up on Amazon, and we only have its title, so read Ninja's own page before you pay for it. The start page begins with what you drink if you're still weighing both.
Asked at the bar
Is the Ninja Luxe Café better than the Breville Barista Express?
It depends on what you want to do. America's Test Kitchen named the Express its overall favorite on July 2, 2025. It found that the Ninja brewed good espresso, but called the design overcomplicated and the drip and cold brew mediocre. If you want guided, automatic frothing and several styles of coffee, the Ninja still has the stronger case.
Which is easier to use, the Ninja Luxe Café or the Barista Express?
The Ninja asks fewer decisions of you: it recommends a grind, doses by preset and can froth milk by itself. The Express asks you to set the grind, dose, tamp and learn the wand. America's Test Kitchen still calls the Express easy to use for beginners, and it saw the Ninja's grind advice change more than once with new beans.
Can you weigh and control shots on the Ninja Luxe Café?
You can weigh what comes out, and the Ninja guide we read says you can change the output in the settings. The machine sets dose and output by preset, though, so it's a less natural fit if you work to a target yield. On the Express, the manual says pressing 1 CUP or 2 CUP during a shot stops it at once.
Does the Ninja Luxe Café or the Barista Express have hot water?
Both do. The Express has a dedicated outlet, and its manual names Americanos and warming cups as its uses. The Ninja's ES601ANZ guide has a hot water button with three temperatures, and its program gives 200 ml unless you stop it. Our Americano page compares how several machines do this.
Where this comes from
- Ninja: Luxe Café Premier ES601ANZ owner's guide (Australia and New Zealand, retailer copy)
- Breville: BES870 Barista Express product page
- Breville: Barista Express instruction book (copy hosted by Williams-Sonoma)
- America's Test Kitchen: espresso machines, July 2, 2025
- Sage/Breville: semi-automatic vs automatic espresso machines
Next round
Ninja Luxe CaféNinja Luxe Café Premier, Pro and Mini Plus: an assisted machine between semi-automatic and super-automatic. What it does for you, what you give up, and who it suits.
Barista ExpressBreville Barista Express BES870XL: grinder, PID, 54 mm portafilter and care from Breville's own documents, and who should buy something else.
With grinderEspresso machines with a built-in grinder compared by spec sheet: Barista Express, Impress, Pro and Touch, plus Ninja, De'Longhi, KitchenAid, Gevi and CASABREWS.
Semi vs automaticSemi-automatic vs automatic espresso machines: “automatic” means different things by brand. How to read a spec sheet, what to ask instead, and who should pick which.
Express vs ImpressBarista Express or Impress? Same 54 mm portafilter, PID and 9 bar extraction. What the tamp lever, 25 grind settings and dose correction change, and what not.
semiautomaticespressomachine.com Editorial Team
Espresso gear & shot craft
We are the editorial team at semiautomaticespressomachine.com. We read maker spec sheets, manuals, standards and published research on espresso and turn them into plain-English buying advice, with sources on every page. We do not run lab tests, and we say so openly.
- Spec sheets & standards read
- Sources on every page
- No lab tests – stated openly
- Publisher details in the imprint
